Week 7. My childhood memories.

Childhood = age span ranging from birth to adolescent. 

Okay. 

Birth, toddlerhood, play age.

Uhm… I can’t remember anything, really. My mom said I was an easy going lil girl, easy to handle, very calm. No fuss. Mom loved to take me to anywhere because I would not bother her or anyone else. How cool I was, huh? Haha… 

School age

Not many that i can remember. But I know I used to love teaching younger kids from the neighbourhood, pretending I was the teacher 😁. I always wanted to be a teacher. Unfortunately, I don’t formally work as a teacher now 😂.

I loved to exchange letters back then. I had several pen pals but my best pen pal was Ita. She lived in Lhokseumawe. We met in Banda Aceh for a science competition when we were in grade 5. We wrote each other for seven years. We stopped writing letters during the era of internet, haha… I mean when email was becoming very popular to connect each other. But the feeling was different… We didn’t write that often anymore. We remain good friend, though.

Adolescence

I knew I was in puberty when I had a crush on someone at school, hahaha… Hormones? Of course, it was the year when I had my first period. I was crazy about him, but in silence. I wasn’t very outspoken in terms of telling personal stuffs. I was happy even to have seen him from the far… He didn’t know I liked him though. Not a bit. 

I had quite some stories about this kind of one sided love, haha. I guess I enjoyed being a secret admirer. I wasn’t very pretty. I wore teeth braces, my teeth were all over the place, haha. So I wasn’t very confident back then. Especially because most of the guys I liked were popular guys. They wouldn’t even look at me. One of the guys I liked had said once, right on my face, “pissed off”. What??? I wasn’t stupid though. I hated him then, haha…

One interesting thing about this love thingy, I once dreamt of having a husband named Ihsan. Why? Because some couples in our neighborhood had similar names with their spouses. In front of my house, there were Mr. Hasan and Mrs. Hasanah. Then, at the next block there were Mr. Jamil and Mrs. Jamilah. They were romantic couples. So, they had inspired me to find a husband with similar name, haha. How stupid was that? Anyway, guess what’s my husband’s name? Ihsan… Haha, a man version of my name, Issana. Yes, i finally found the one. My husband legal name is Irsal, but it’s his new name. His parents changed it when he was in high school because he was easily ill all the time. It’s common in our culture to change name when a kid is always sick. His former name was Ihsan. Family and relatives, even his neighbours, still call him Ihsan until now.

Well, I had a happy childhood. Maybe I’ll write about it in other post, when I remember 😄.

 

Leave a Reply

