Week 8. An unforgettable day in my life.

Wohooo, it’s been a while since my last post. I almost forgot about my weekly blog post 😂😂. Not proud.

Anyway…

There’s an ‘an’, so it should be one unforgettable moment. Uhm… I am not sure if I have one in particular.

Of course I couldn’t remember my birth, so it’s forgettable, haha. We don’t really celebrate birthdays or anniversaries at home, so no… I couldn’t remember any great and memorable birthday celebration. Maybe throughout my life, two important moments so far, therefore unforgettable, were our wedding and the birth of our son. I’ve already written about the birth of our son in here (in Indonesian) so I’ll write about the first one here 😁.

I remember that I was not that bridezilla type who planned and perfectly organized every single thing in regards to the wedding. Especially because I was in the middle of finishing my master thesis. We prepared things from a far, I was in Melbourne and my (soon to be, at the time) husband was in Aceh. He took care of things he had to do like preparing gifts for the bride and taking care of all necessary documents, i took care of things that can be ordered online from the down under, haha… Like wedding souvenirs and invitation cards.

So, yes… I didn’t have that epic wedding invitation cards with pictures of both of us holding hands together, haha. Well, we didn’t do pre wedding photos mostly because it wasn’t right according to our religion and family values. My parents said a definite no to pre wedding shots.
Mom and my baby sister took the most vital role for the wedding. They sent pictures of different wedding stalls for me to choose, different kind of flowers, etc. I trusted my mom’s tastebud so she was the one who picked the catering. I was the last daughter to get marry at home, so mom kinda knew best what and which, haha. I returned home a month before the date to prepare the rest. Not much, really. Everything was already booked, all I had to do was just pampering myself with body and skin treatment 😁.

The reception was so-so. Indonesian wedding is not very intimate. There were friends and relatives, of course, but there were also lots of my parents’ friends and colleagues whom I didn’t really know 😚.

Nonetheless, it was unforgettable because…

1. It was the moment when I saw my dad cried for me. He never really cries before. I remembered he also sobbed at my sister’s wedding and told me, “I have finished my responsibilities towards your sister. I am not a perfect dad but I hope I’ve done enough for her.” Though in reality he never stops being a father, of course, it is true that a daughter (in Islam) literally become the responsibility of her husband once she got married. I understand, a moment like wedding must have made him sad and lost…like loosing a daughter, handing his girl to a person he barely knows. I hugged him tight, just as a tight as I hugged my mom the night before, telling him that I will always be his girl. 

2. It was my first time alone with a man, in a room…haha. Well, we’ve been alone before at the restaurant, in the car, and other places, but not in a bedroom or empty room. It was a bit awkward to be alone like that, especially because I knew he had waited a moment like that for so long, haha. No extra stories for this :).

3. It was a very uncomfortable day, ever. I wore acehnese traditional wedding gown with several kinds of trinkets, including keureusang (a big jewellery chest pinned on the dress, like a brooch, made of gold encrusted with diamonds, fake diamonds, haha), 26 pieces of simplah (also jewelleries, mixed of hexagonal and octagonal plates decorated with carved flowers and leaves), more traditional jewelleries I couldn’t name, and the epic dhoe plate (forehead jewellery made from gold and shaped like a crown). Believe me, I carried like 10kgs of jewelleries on my body plus maybe around 3kgs on my head. Headache all along those six pretty hours while we had to smile and take photos with the guests. 

The torturing ‘crown’…

So, due to reason number three, I promise I would never do wedding again 😄. I had enough. Just one wedding, forever and ever. Insha Allah.

Leave a Reply

